top of page


The Victorian Curriculum sets out what a student should learn during their Prep to Year 10 schooling years, which incorporates the Australian curriculum, but is reflective of the Victorian priorities and standards.

The learning areas are as follows:

  1. The Arts, which incorporates areas such as dance, drama, media arts, music, visual arts and visual communication design;

  2. English;

  3. Health and Physical Education;

  4. Humanities, which incorporates areas such as civics and citizenship, economics and business, geography and history;

  5. Languages;

  6. Mathematics;

  7. Science; and

  8. Technologies, which incorporates areas such as design and technologies and digital technologies.

The Victorian Curriculum also includes capabilities, which are skills that are taught throughout the learning areas.  These are:

  • critical and creative thinking;

  • ethical;

  • intercultural; and

  • personal and social

For more information about the Victorian Curriculum, go to the Victorian Currriculum and Assessment Authority website here.

bottom of page