Religious Education

The Religious Education Curriculum draws from and incorporates the teachings and principles promoted in the Catechism of the Catholic Church, along with the teachings of Vatican II and post-conciliar documents.  It attends to the spiritual development of each person, acknowledging and celebrating the Spirit at work, inviting a relationship with God and a Christ-like stance towards others.


When teaching Religious Education we aim to open up a more explicit dialogue of appreciating the value of Catholic faith and respecting the other faiths and worldviews that permeate Australia’s diverse society, find new ways to express the Gospel as alive and authentic, and engage in rich and meaningful experiences of prayer.

The learning structure is comprised of: three strands of learning; five content areas; and the learning progression including achievement standards.

The three strands are:

● Knowledge and Understanding, i.e. seeking truth

● Reasoning and Responding, i.e. making meaning

● Personal and Communal Engagement, i.e. living story


The five content areas work together to build a network of understanding of the Catholic Church and its traditions. These are:

● Scripture and Jesus

● Church and Community

● God, Religion and Life

● Sacrament, Prayer and Liturgy

● Morality and Justice